There was an error in this gadget

Thursday, December 31, 2009

Pro Bowlers

Julius Peppers and Deangelo Williams were named to the 2010 Pro Bowl, the AP reports.

Peppers' is his 5th, and second consecutive. Williams made it in this year apparently as a payback for last year - he's within the top ten backs but his 7 TDs and recent injury take a backseat to 2008's 1500 yard, 20 TD performance.

Most notably was a lack of Jon Beason on the roster, with Jon Vilma and Patrick Willis taking the two spots. Beason is a second alternate, along with Steve Smith and C Ryan Kalil. It's Kalil's first Pro Bowl mention; Beason was a Pro Bowler last year, Smith was a four time Pro Bowler as recently as 08.

Jordan Gross didn't make it either - he'd struggled before going out with the injury. Travelle Wharton, who many thought should've made it as a guard last year, was harmed by the move back out to tackle; Kalil has been the best NFC center down the stretch but was harmed by the early season struggles at Philadelphia.

There's also no doubt based on how he started the season, that Thomas Davis would've finished the season with a Pro Bowl bid had he stayed healthy. Davis is still the Panthers' 2nd leading tackler despite missing more than half the team's games. He had a good shot in a weak NFC year for OLB - Demarcus Ware always gets in, but his 11 sacks were actually low for him (and he didn't come on until near the end of voting), Lance Briggs got in on reputation only, and backup is Brian Orakpo, a rookie who got in on only sack count.
Post a Comment